Barisal Division with an area of 13295.55 sq km, is bounded by dhaka division on the north, bay of bengal on the south, chittagong division on the east and khulna division on the west. Main rivers are arial khan, bishkhali, burishwar, tentulia, Paira, Haringhata, Baleshwar, kirtankhola, katcha, Agunmukha.

Barisal (Town) consists of 30 wards and 50 mahallas. It has an area of 16.36 sq km. The town has a population of 202242; male 53.28%, female 46.72%. Literacy rate among the town people is 65 %. Barisal municipality was established in 1876 and it was elevated into a city corporation in 2000.


Barisal division was established in 1 January 1993. It consists of six districts, 38 upazilas, 353 union parishads, 3159 mouzas, 12 municipalities, 25 wards and 4163 villages. The districts are barisal, jhalokati, pirojpur, bhola, patuakhali and barguna..

Religious institutions:

Mosque 12804, tomb 23, temple 3110, church 49, pagoda 22 and math 5


Population 7462644; male 50.67%, female 49.33%; Muslim 88.06%, Hindu 11.7%, Christian 0.18% and others 0.06%.

Main occupations:

Agriculture 40.96%, fishing 3.4%, agricultural labourer 18%, wage labourer 4.59%, commerce 11.92%, transport 1.73%, construction 1.34%, service 7.39%, others 10.67%.

Main crops:

Paddy, betel leaf, potato, sugarcane, oil seed, onion, garlic, vegetables.

Health centres:

Hospital 9, upazila health complex 37, union health centre 158, health and family planning centre 198, satellite clinic 72, private clinic 78, diabetic hospital 1.


Barguna District

Barisal District

Bhola District

Jhalokati District

Patuakhali District

Pirojpur District