Chittagong District:

Chittagong District (Chittagong division) with an area of 5282.98 sq km, is bounded by feni district and Tripura (Indian state) on the north, cox's bazar district on the south, bandarban, rangamati and khagrachhari districts on the east and noakhali district and the bay of bengal on the west. Chittagong District is quite different from other districts for its unique natural beauty characterised by hills, rivers, sea, forests and valleys. Annual average temperature maximum 32.5C, minimum 13.5C, total annual rainfall 2687 mm. Main rivers are karnafuli, halda and sangu.

Chittagong (Town) consists of six thanas, 68 wards and 236 mahallas. It has an area of 209.66 sq km. The town has a population 3202710; male 54.36% and female 45.64%; population density per sq km 15276. The main seaport of Bangladesh is located at the estuary of the Karnafuli river. Chittagong is also called the commercial capital of Bangladesh. Interesting places of the city include Batali Hill (87.5 m in height), War Cemetery, Patenga Sea Beach, foy's lake, etc. The first Export Processing Zone (1983) of Bangladesh is situated here. Chittagong Municipal Committee was established in 1860. At present, it has been turned into Chittagong City Corporation.

Administration Chittagong district was established in 1666 including three hill districts. The district of Chittagong Hill Tracts was established in 1860 with the hill region of the district. Later, Chittagong district was further divided into Chittagong and Cox's Bazar districts. The district consists of one city corporation, seven municipalities, six thanas, 20 upazilas, 197 union parishads and 1,319 villages. The upazilas are anwara, banshkhali, boalkhali, chandanaish, fatikchhari, hathazari, lohagara, mirsharai, patiya, rangunia, raozan, sandwip, satkania and sitakunda. The thanas are chandgaon, Bandar thana (chittagong port) , double mooring, kotwali, pahartali and panchlaish.


demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot ,