Jamalpur District:

Jamalpur District (Dhaka division) with an area of 2031.98 sq km, is bounded by Meghalaya State of India, kurigram and sherpur districts on the north, tangail district on the south, mymensingh and Sherpur districts on the east, jamuna river, bogra, sirajganj and gaibandha districts on the west. Annual average temperature maximum 33.3C, minimum 12C; annual rainfall 2174 mm. Main rivers are Jamuna, old brahmaputra, Jhenai, Banar, Jirjira, Chhatal.

Jamalpur (Town) consists of 12 wards and 80 mahallas. The municipality was established in 1869. The area of the town is 53.28 sq km. The town has a population of 116754; male 51.06%, female 48.94%. Density of population is 2191 per sq km. Literacy rate among the town people is 43.60%. It has a railway junction and three dakbungalows.

Administration Jamalpur district was established in 1978. The district consists of 7 upazilas, 6 municipalities, 68 union parishads, 57 wards, 224 mahallas and 1532 villages. The upazilas are jamalpur sadar, bakshiganj, dewanganj, islampur, madarganj, melandaha and sarishabari. The municipalities are Jamalpur Sadar, Sarishabari, Melandaha, Madarganj, Islampur and Dewanganj.


demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot ,