Kishoreganj District:

Kishoreganj District (Dhaka division) with an area of 2688.62 sq km, is bounded by netrokona and mymensingh districts on the north, narsingdi district on the southwest and brahmanbaria district on the southeast, sunamganj and habiganj districts on the east, gazipur and Mymensingh districts on the west. The soil formation of the district is alluvial sand coming from Brahmaputra, Meghna and other small rivers. The soil is fertile. Annual average temperature- maximum 33.3C, minimum 12C; annual rainfall 2174 mm. There are hills and hillocks on the northern and depressions on southern parts of the district. Main rivers are old brahmaputra, meghna, Kalni, Dhanu, Ghorautra, Baurii, Narasunda, Piyain; main depressions: Humaipur (Bajitpur), Somai (Nikli), Barir (Mithamain), Surma Baula (Nikli), and Tallar Haors (Nikli-Bajitpur-Austagram).

Kishoreganj (Town) consists of 9 wards and 56 mahallas. Kishoreganj municipality was established in 1869. The area of the town is 19.57 sq km. It has a population of 77165; male 52.51%, female 47.49%. The density of population is 3943 per sq km. Literacy rate among the town people is 59%. It has two dakbungalows.

Kishoreganj district was established in 1984; earlier it was a subdivision under the Mymensingh district. The subdivision was established in 1860. The district consists of four municipalities, 39 wards, 145 mahallas, 13 upazilas, 105 union parishads, 946 mouzas and 1775 villages. The upazilas are austagram, bajitpur, bhairab, hossainpur, itna, karimganj, katiadi, kishoreganj sadar, kuliarchar, mithamain, nikli, pakundia and Tarail; municipalities are Kishoreganj Sadar, Bajitpur, Bhairab and Kuliarchar.


demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot ,