Munshiganj District:

Munshiganj District (Dhaka division) with an area of 954.96 sq km, is bounded by dhaka and narayanganj districts on the north, madaripur and shariatpur districts on the south, comilla and chandpur districts on the east, Dhaka and faridpur districts on the west. Main rivers are the padma, meghna, dhaleshwari, ichamati and shitalakshya. The southern and eastern parts of the district often fall victim to erosion caused by the mighty Padma and the Meghna respectively. Main depression is Arial Beel covering an area of 4330 hectare. Annual temperature- maximum 36C and minimum 12.7C; total rainfall 2376 mm.

Munshiganj (Town) consists of 9 wards and 42 mahallas.The area of the town is 14.17 sq km. The population of the town is 52071; male 51.62% and female 48.38%; density of population is 3674 per sq km. Literacy rate among the town people is 49.3%. The town has two dakbungalows.

Administration Munshiganj district, formerly a subdivision under Dhaka district, was established in 1984. It consists of 6 upazilas, 67 union parishads, 662 mouzas, 906 villages, 18 wards, 73 mahallas and 2 municipalities. The upazilas are gazaria, tongibari, serajdikhan, lohajang, sreenagar and munshiganj sadar.


demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot , demo spot ,